Connect with us

Manchester United

Confirmed: Man Utd lineup vs Leicester

Manchester United host Leicester City in Saturday evening’s Premier League game at Old Trafford.

We’re looking to make it three wins from three today after convincing 4-0 thrashings of both West Ham United and Swansea City to start the season.

Today’s visitors Leicester have three points from their first two games – losing 4-3 at Arsenal before turning their fortunes around to beat Brighton 2-0 last weekend.

Here’s how the teams lineup:

Manchester United

David de Gea; Antonio Valencia, Phil Jones, Eric Bailly, Daley Blind; Nemanja Matic, Paul Pogba; Juan Mata, Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Anthony Martial; Romelu Lukaku

Substitutes: Sergio Romero, Matteo Darmian, Chris Smalling, Ander Herrera, Marouane Fellaini, Jesse Lingard, Marcus Rashford

Anthony Martial in for Marcus Rashford down the left wing is the only change Jose Mourinho has made from the first two games.  The French international had come off the bench to score in our opening two games previously.

Leicester’s have threats down the wings with Marc Albrighton and Riyad Mahrez liking to cut inside to cross on their stronger foot.  The latter also has a good shot on him.

We also need to be weary of through balls down the middle to Jamie Vardy who has pace and makes excellent runs off the ball.  Finally, we can expect Wes Morgan and Harry Maguire to be threats from set pieces.


Kasper Schmeichel; Danny Simpson, Wes Morgan, Harry Maguire, Christian Fuchs; Riyad Mahrez, Wilfried Ndidi, Matty James, Marc Albrighton; Shinji Okazaki, Jamie Vardy

Substitutes: Ben Hamer, Ben Chilwell, Daniel Amartey, Andy King, Demarai Gray, Kelechi Iheanacho, Islam Slimani

Wes Morgan and Harry Maguire have both shaken off knocks to start in what is the identical starting XI we predicted in yesterday’s preview.

Kelechi Iheanacho had also been a doubt for this match but the former-Manchester City striker is named among the substitutes.